The 16th International Conference on Na,K-ATPase and Related Transport ATPases will be held Tuesday, September 1 to Sunday, September 6, 2020. The conference will be held at The Banff Centre located in the beautiful Canadian Rocky Mountains in the picturesque town of Banff, Alberta, Canada. The conference will be focused on P-Type ATPases in Health and Disease with sessions featuring the physiology, function, and structure of members of the superfamily of P-type ATPases. The original conference on this topic occurred in 1973 at the New York Academy of Sciences, and the conference has been held every 3 years since 1978. We are honored to host the first triennial P-type ATPase Conference to be held in Canada!


The Banff Centre was founded in 1933 as a retreat and learning center for Arts and Creativity. It started with a single course in drama, and it stands now as a world renowned leader in arts, culture, and creativity across dozens of disciplines. Nestled in the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains, The Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity hosts numerous conferences with the goal of inspiring attendees to unleash their creative potential.


Confirmed Speakers:

Kazuhiro Abe (Nagoya University)

Rebecca Alford (Johns Hopkins University)

Jens Peter Andersen (Aarhus University)

Pablo Artigas (Texas Tech University)

Allison Brashear (UC Davis)

Todd Duhamel (University of Manitoba)

Michel Espinoza-Fonseca (University of Michigan)

Todd Graham (Vanderbilt University)

Anthony Gramolini (University of Toronto)

Miguel Holmgren (National Insitutes of Health)

Rosa Laura Lopez Marques (University of Copenhagen)

Svetlana Lutsenko (Johns Hopkins University)

Catherine Makarewich (University of Texas Southwestern)

Robert Molday (University of British Columbia)

Poul Nissen, Keynote (Aarhus University)

Osamu Nureki (University of Tokyo)

Michael Palmgren (University of Copenhagen)

Coen Paulusma (Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam)

Hanne Poulsen (Aarhus University)

Rajini Rao (Johns Hopkins University)

Maria Rosario Sepulveda (University of Granada)

Benoit Roux (University of Chicago)

Jaroslava Seflova (Loyola University)

Michael Shattock (King's College London)

Kathleen Sweadner, Keynote (Massachusets General Hospital)

David Thomas (University of Minnesota)

Milena Timcenko Tronsgaard (Aarhus University)

Chikashi Toyoshima, Keynote (University of Tokyo)

Russel Tupling (University of Waterloo)

Peter Vangheluwe (KU Leuven)

Bente Vilsen (Aarhus University)

Julia von Blume (Yale University)

Aleksey Zima (Loyola University)


We look forward to seeing you in Banff!


Howard S. Young, Conference Host & Chair of the Organizing Committee

Department of Biochemistry, University of Alberta


Committee members:

Pablo Artigas, Texas Tech University

Preben Morth, Technical University of Denmark

Rajini Rao, Johns Hopkins University

Seth Robia, Loyola University

Peter Vangheluwe, KU Leuven


The Organizing Committee is committed to hosting a creative communication and learning environment that inspires and enables all people to reach their full potential. We value and we will strive to achieve diversity, inclusivity, and equity across and among all meeting participants.



September 1-6 2020

The Banff Centre
107 Tunnel Mountain Drive
Banff, Alberta

Poster presentation
September 1, 2019 02:00 EDT to July 1, 2020 02:00 EDT
Poster + speed talk (3 minutes)
September 1, 2019 02:00 EDT to July 1, 2020 02:00 EDT
Oral presentation
September 1, 2019 02:00 EDT to July 1, 2020 02:00 EDT
Contact organizers